Making Travel Plans…

Our first ultrasound is coming up at the end of next week.  Originally, I wasn’t planning on attending.  Not because I didn’t want to, but because there’s quite a bit of time and expense involved.  As I don’t live close to the clinic, I’d have to either fly from the Bay Area to LA and rent a car, or fly to SD, borrow a car from my parents, and make the drive (5-6 hours round trip).  Since heartbeats are only a possibility this early (it’ll be 3 weeks and 6 days after transfer), I was going to wait until the 2nd ultrasound 2 weeks later.

A couple nights ago, my dad called me and asked if I wanted to go to the ultrasound.  I said of course I did, but felt that it wasn’t the best use of our budgeted surrogacy funds.  If we had unlimited resources, I wouldn’t even think about it–I’d just go.  But since we don’t know for sure how much this process is going to cost (or how many kids we’re going to end up with), my husband and I are trying to be as fiscally conservative as possible.  In other words, we’re being cheap when we can. 😉

At any rate, my dad said that I was being wise to not throw away money, but he felt it was important for me to go.  After all, it’s the first ultrasound.  And while there are going to be a lot of “firsts” in this process, the ultrasound is one of the biggies.  So, he was willing to pay for my plane tickets and rental car.  In his words, “Your mother and I have spent money on stupider things in our lives. It’s way better to spend it on something important and special, like this.  Consider it an early Mother’s Day gift.”

If I could have jumped through the phone to hug and thank him, I would have.  Not just because he’s paying for my one-day trip to the ultrasound, but because he called it a Mother’s Day gift–something I wasn’t sure I’d ever be fortunate enough to receive.  I know he chose those words specifically to show his support, but I doubt he realized the effect they’d have on me.

And while I didn’t turn into a blubbering mess on the phone, I did have to dry my eyes before running into the other room to tell my husband that he was going to have to get up and take me to the airport before dawn next week so I could go see our child(ren) on an ultrasound monitor.

Choked up in one post, teary-eyed the next.  What’s this once-tough emotion-controlled Marine becoming?

Previous Post
Leave a comment

3 Comments

  1. Leigh

     /  April 30, 2012

    I love your dad’s remark about having spent money on “stupider things!” You’re so lucky to have a loving dad!!

    Reply
    • He’s the best. I freely admit to being a “daddy’s girl” (I got him to dance with me at my wedding, when he didn’t at his own). But if I have a daughter, he’s really going to be in trouble 😉

      Reply
  1. The First Ultrasound… « This Butterfly's Dream

Leave a Reply

